Smile.. on the move.

A stranger smiles and I can’t help but wonder why
without a spoken word between us, I also smile.
A slight nod is exchanged, acknowledging our existence
lost in exclusive thoughts we feel unable to share.
Curiosity wins, I converse, hoping for acceptance
the invisible barrier is lowered and the words flow.
The continuous gab maintains pace with the train
talking and listening in equal proportions.
The stranger completes their journey, I am left alone
reflecting on what I have learnt and told.
We shared a wealth of information but remain strangers
I smile to myself – a stranger smiles back.

6 thoughts on “Smile.. on the move.

  1. Oooh, love the twist at the end. I am garrulous with strangers. Suppose that’s why I’ve taken to blogging so…

  2. Thank you! I love to talk to people and it’s amazing the things a total stranger will tell you.

  3. linda says:

    Great post – succinct yet powerful! I’ve become very gabby the older I get – its led me to meet some delightful people πŸ™‚

  4. I love this there is so much power in a smile and it can brighten a persons day! I think we should do it more often πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

